Words

My 3-year-old son was trying out his words. His big words, in a soliloquy about string cheese. “Cheese, cheese… why do you presume yourself to be breaked?” Knowing that he had my attention, he added an aside with a conspiratorial grin, “I teached Elli to say that.” Elli (pictured) was about a year old at the time.

In our family, we love our words. We try them on, test them out, see if they are an exact fit for what we want to relate. We have been known to repeat a word throughout the day just because we like the way it sounds. Classic word-nerds. Not everyone has the same love of words that we do, but everyone should agree that words have power. They make us laugh. They fill in the holes of the time we are apart from each other. They help us analyze our experience, relate ideas, and understand one another. They reflect boundaries, order the flow of daily life, connect us. They can become a game. They can give wings, or deal a crushing blow. I have seen my own words do all of these things, and , thankfully, I have seen God at work mending the hurt caused by my words.

Have you ever felt that immediate regret, wishing you could just eat all of the words you allowed to come out of your mouth? I sure have, and recently have found God at work in me, mending the hurt in my heart that causes me to lash out with my words.

I’ve heard someone say that Spiritual growth is directly proportional to the time it takes you to pursue God after you’ve separated from Him (in what you say or do or think or what you’ve left undone.) The good news for me is that I know God is at work! The bad news is I’ve become increasingly aware that I harm others with what I say, or how I say it, as I have to confess throughout each day.

Wrestlethe daily struggle to have my words match my growing heart. Matthew 12:34, among many other verses, show how the heart and mouth are connected: “Out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks.” Lord, help me to speak words of growth, of encouragement, to those around me. And shower your grace down on my kids, especially, as they have received their share of hurting words. So grateful they are quick to forgive—just like You.

The up side? Many good talks about forgiveness and grace. And realizing that we all need it!

Ephesians 4:28b, “Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.”

What do you do when you’ve realized you’ve said something you shouldn’t have? How do you use your words for good?

This entry was published on September 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm. It’s filed under communication, faith, forgiveness, parenting, struggle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment